Below a few images I shot at the historic old Free State Stadium (Vodacom Park) in Bloemfontein late one night whilst playing around in the dark with some long-exposure photography.

Perhaps it’s just my imagination but the first one reminds me of something out of a space movie? It works quite nicely in black-and-white in a square format I think – the light shining down the middle is actually lens flare from a street light I was unavoidably standing below trying to get back far enough to fit the full width of the stadium into my wide-angle Canon 17mm tilt-and-shift lens. This image printed out full-size is quite breathtaking thanks to the clarity and sharpness you get working with Canon’s flagship range of professional L-series lenses like the 17mm TSE.

The second long-exposure shot is taken inside the actual stadium in complete darkness. Despite the stadium being right in the centre of town I was still able to catch some stars in the clear dark sky that night, taken again with my Canon 17mm TSE L-series lens.

There’s beauty and art in architecture everywhere if you just have a keen enough and creative eye to look for it.

Image 01: ISO 100, f8, 10 second exposure

Image 02: ISO 800, f4, 30 second exposure (it was THAT dark)

